Tags

, , , , ,

I had an incredible moment yesterday when a good friend of mine (Shoutout to Libby Boudreau) showed me a version of Beyoncé’s “Countdown” music video that had been recreated Snuggie-style. I then returned the favor and gave her some dance history context for the original video.

Moments like that, my friends, illustrate the ripple effect that modern dance has in today’s society. I encourage all of you to participate in conversations about dance, especially when it shows up in mass media, in an effort to keep dance history alive!

You can start by sharing these sweet videos with your friends and/or family. I’m sure you will wow them with your pop culture prowess and mad dance history skillz.

1. I don’t think this first one needs an introduction:

.

2. Beyoncé’s music video for “Countdown” was clearly inspired by the work of Belgian choreographer Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker. Below is a split-screen video that illustrates the similarities between the two. Learn more about Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker by clicking the link above.

Please share your thoughts about this post in the comment section below, and let me know if these videos influence any of your conversations in the next few days!

