Tags

, , , , , ,

Between David Dorfman Dance’s Prophets of Funk performance a few weeks ago and the Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater’s performance last week, funk-based dance styles have been finding their way into my life a lot lately. Today, I’m highlighting famous performers who have that something extra.

Justin Bieber

As the youngest performer on my list, Justin Bieber still has a long way to go when it comes to mastering the dance floor. But, as much as it pains me to say it, the kid has an internal groove that can’t be ignored. You’ll see some gliding and tutting mixed in with Justin’s choreography in the “Baby” video below.

Chris Brown:

Though there has been a lot of controversy about Chris Brown’s personal life, the guy is an amazing mover. Brown’s “Turn Up The Music” video shows clear influence from the likes of Usher and Michael Jackson – I’ve posted their videos below so you can see what I mean.

Sisqo:

The man who brought us the unforgettable phrase “dumps like a truck,” (I still have no idea what that means, by the way), Sisqo certainly knows how to boogie. Watch him get down in “The Thong Song” video below.

Justin Timberlake:

From his days as a youngster on the Mickey Mouse Club, to his time in *NSYNC, to his explosive solo career, Justin Timberlake has always had some fancy dance moves. Take a glimpse at JT’s early solo career in his video for “Like I Love You” below. Though JT’s wardrobe is heinous, his dancing is on point.

Usher

This baby-faced crooner danced his way into our hearts with hits like “You Make Me Wanna” and guest appearances in teen flicks like “She’s All That.” Check out Usher’s “U Got It Bad” video below, and be sure to pay attention to the dance sequence in the rain.

Michael Jackson:

I don’t think I need to explain why the King of Pop made my list of incredible dancers. Here’s a little “Smooth Criminal” to brighten up your Monday.

