Tags

, , , , , , , ,

If you missed last night’s #DanceChat, here it is! Feel free to leave me your thoughts in a comment at the end of the post! I’d love to hear what all of you think!
Next week’s #DanceChat will be Thursday, January 26th at 8 PM EST.  The topic will be Digital Dance: How the Internet and social media have changed the dance world.
——
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3 Alyssa Schoeneman

Tonight’s #DanceChat has officially begun! I’d love to know who I’m talking to – Say hi and state your role in the dance world.
AScho3: I’m a dance journalist/critic/blogger/dancer/sometimes choreographer, but most importantly I’m a dance show junkie. #DanceChat
AScho3#DanceChat There are a bevy of dance-themed shows -So You Think You Can Dance, Dancing With the Stars, Dance Moms, America’s Best Dance Crew, Dance Your @$$ Off had a short run, America’s Got Talent features dance…What am I forgetting? #DanceChat
Katy Olinski
KatyOTweets Katy Olinski: @AScho3 Live to Dance, Pants-Off Dance Off. 🙂 #DanceChat
KatyOTweets@AScho3 love all of the above except for Dancing with the Stars. #DanceChat
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3:  @KatyOTweets said she likes everything but Dancing With the Stars.
Any particular reason you dislike that show? #DanceChat
Katy Olinski
KatyOTweets: @AScho3 I don’t think many of the professionals act professional and it’s more of a popularity contest.  Also, dances are not that great.I am not into the live band aspect cuz sometimes the music is awful and sounds like kids bop #DanceChat
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3: @KatyOTweets Looks like we’re on the same page. I don’t think DTWS is fairly matched – Nicole Scherzinger had a clear advantage #DanceChat
AScho3: @KatyOTweets I am 100% with you on the terrible DWTS music. I can’t stand it. #DanceChat
Boney Crandall

tony_randall Boney Crandall: @AScho3 DWTS is fun but so very terrible. Who is your favorite pro? Mine is Derek Hough for obvious reasons. #DanceChat
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3@tony_randall I can’t honestly say I follow DTWS closely enough to have a favorite pro.I could never bring myself to watch it #DanceChat
Boney Crandall

tony_randall: @AScho3 Pussycat Dolls Present: The Search for the Next Doll #NeverForget #DanceChat
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3@tony_randall Reminded me that I forgot The Pussycat Dolls Present: The Search for the Next Doll. I also forgot Dance Fever And there was a show on MTV – I think it was the Wade Robson project? #DanceChat
AScho3Do any of these shows accurately portray the dance world? Why or why not? What could they do better? I find that SYTYCD is the most realistic when it comes to the challenges that professional dancers face. Adaptability is key. #DanceChat
Katy Olinski

KatyOTweets: @AScho3 SYTYCD and ABDC I think give the best portrayals of dancers that work really hard. #DanceChat
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3@KatyOTweets Do you ever feel like ABDC spoon-feeds its dance crews with their challenges? I think ABDC sometimes assigns challenges based on what pairings they think will succeed. Whatever will get them big ratings #DanceChat
Katy Olinski

KatyOTweets: @AScho3 I think they give some of the more well-known songs and challenges to certain teams to make them well-liked #DanceChat
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3: I have one major issue with ABDC, which is the exploitation of hip-hop dance culture in general. The movement grew underground #DanceChat
Katy Olinski
KatyOTweets: @AScho3 I love watching it and seeing how the crews are transforming hip hop, it’s exciting #DanceChat
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3@KatyOTweets ABDC has given exposure to many dancers who would be otherwise unknown. I have learned a lot from that show! #DanceChat
AScho3: There has definitely been a shift in hip hop dance culture toward flash – in fashion, choreography and performance venues. But I think it is a great thing – hip-hop culture has a style all its own, & shouldn’t be held down because of its beginnings. #DanceChat
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3How do you feel about the judges on different dance shows? And the guest judges? Who does a good job and who doesn’t? #DanceChat
I loved Neil Patrick Harris and Jesse Tyler Ferguson as guest judges on SYTYCD. Gaga was too self-promotional #DanceChat
Katy Olinski

KatyOTweets: @AScho3 I was just about to say the same thing! Loved both of them and Kristen Chenowith #DanceChat
KatyOTweets@AScho3 Mary Murphy makes me want to gauge my eyes out. #DanceChat
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3:  I really dislike judges who just make dance puns. If you have to read scripted critiques, get off of the panel.
Also, I find that most dance shows have a “fluff” judge who only comments on costumes or never gives solid feedback. Carmen Electra was that judge on Dance Fever. Lil Mama is often that judge on ABDC #DanceChat
Boney Crandall

tony_randall: @AScho3 100% agree about NPH/JTF. Lil Mama on ABDC is reliably terrible. Mary Murphy is a nightmare. Love Paula when she’s lucid. #DanceChat
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3: @tony_randall But Lil Mama does have some GREAT bejeweled baseball caps. Can I get an amen? #DanceChat
Boney Crandall

tony_randall: @AScho3 Oh, absolutely. The jewels/glitter/fringe on DWTS rule all. I love the singer in the orchestra who wears a jewel on her forehead.
Katy Olinski
KatyOTweets: @AScho3 Thoughts on making each SYTYCD episode highlight the same style each week to avoid favoring hiphop/jazz dances #DanceChat
KatyOTweets: @AScho3 like everyone do quickstep one week, hiphop next, jazz next, etc. #DanceChat
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3: @KatyOTweets That would definitely make it easier to compare individual dancers’ performances across the board. #DanceChat
AScho3:@KatyOTweets It would also give SYTYCD producers an opportunity to highlight a broader range of choreographers and styles. #DanceChat
Katy Olinski
KatyOTweets: @AScho3 Agreed, otherwise quickstep becomes the kiss of death and sends home some of the best dancers. Love Travis Wall 🙂 #DanceChat
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3: Travis Wall is one of my favorite choreographers b/c he always seems to get it right. His dances seem genuine in a way that many other choreographers don’t quite achieve. I think he is in his prime, so we are seeing some of his best work on the show.
I also love that Travis Wall is a SYTYCD alum. The show has built an incredible network of dance professionals. #DanceChat
Katy Olinski

KatyOTweets: @AScho3 and he is just so darn adorable #DanceChat
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3Some dance shows feature guest performers. Do you feel like they choose wisely? #DanceChat
AScho3: I wish more world dance forms were highlighted in guest performances. It is all about increasing awareness/exposure. #DanceChat
Katy Olinski
KatyOTweets: @AScho3 when it is a musical guest…I think it takes away from the dancing, unless the dancers get to be in the performance #DanceChat
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3 @KatyOTweets Agreed. I think most musicians are selected b/c their acts include dance, but the style isn’t novel in any way. #DanceChat
AScho3: How much do you watch the dancers in a musician’s act, anyway? They are rarely the focal point. We need to get those musicians on DWTS instead of the house band. Then they can perform and we can still focus on the dancing. #DanceChat
Boney Crandall

tony_randall: @AScho3 @KatyOTweets I loved when J. Lo danced on/around that giant shoe on SYTYCD.
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3: I forgot about this performance! But really, how is that even possible? Thanks @tony_randall for that #DanceChat
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3: I wanted to talk about dance movies, too but we are running out of time! Shoutout to CenterStage, Step Up and Black Swan #DanceChat
Katy Olinski
KatyOTweets: @AScho3 Step Up 3 is my favorite for sure! and Center Stage and Burlesque #DanceChat
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3: I really loved Burlesque, and I’m not even ashamed to say it. But let’s be real, that Cher solo made no sense plot-wise. #DanceChat
Boney Crandall
tony_randall: @AScho3 What’s your favorite dance scene in film? Singin in the Rain? West Side Story? Cabaret? Save the Last Dance? Romy and Michelle?
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3@tony_randall Most certainly Romy & Michelle. That dance sequence is a dream.
I also love the opening dance scene in Get Over It #DanceChat
And the She’s All That Rockafeller Skank dance! Oh my!
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3: I guess I just love dance sequences in non-dance movies more than anything #DanceChat
Boney Crandall

tony_randall: @AScho3 I obvs love Romy and Michelle. Travolta/Thurman in Pulp Fiction is perfection. Favorite dance-themed film has to be Billy Elliot.
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3@tony_randall said his favorite dance-themed film is Billy Elliot. My favorite dance movie is Centerstage. I just can’t fight it. I did see Billy Elliot on Broadway though, which was an incredible experience. I think I preferred it live. #DanceChat
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3: Yikes! It’s already past 9! That concludes my #DanceChat for today. Thanks so much @KatyOTweets and @tony_randall for your thoughts!
I’ll be hosting another #DanceChat at the same time next week!
Which dance shows do you like and why? Leave me a comment to let me know!