Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Hey guys! In case you missed last night’s #dancechat, I’ve copied it online here. A huge thanks to those who participated, and to those who sent in feedback after the chat. Hope to hear from a few more of you next week!
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3 Alyssa Schoeneman

Hey guys! Thanks so much for participating in tonight’s #DanceChat. To start: What role do you play in the dance world?
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3 Alyssa Schoeneman

Choreographer? Dancer? Viewer? etc. #DanceChat
Jenn Kloc
jennkloc Jenn Kloc

I’m a handful of times viewer of dance, but I know nothing about it. But I still LIKE it! And I like to dance in bars and such 🙂 #dancechat
Monica Anne
MonicaAnne90 Monica Anne

My role in the dance world: Currently a student, hoping to become a dancer, choreographer and dance filmmaker #DanceChat
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3 Alyssa Schoeneman

Tonight’s topic is: How much information does the audience need before viewing a performance? #DanceChat
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3 Alyssa Schoeneman

Does knowing something about a dance work before you see it change the way you view the piece? Does it limit your experience?#DanceChat
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3 Alyssa Schoeneman

As a critic, I like to go into a performance with little information about its content so as not to cloud my perception of it. #DanceChat
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3 Alyssa Schoeneman

But I find that I’m drawn to seeing work if I know something about the choreographer/company or about the evening’s programming. #DanceChat
Monica Anne
MonicaAnne90 Monica Anne

In the case of Merce, I took my friend to a performance and he felt very limited because he knew nothing of Merce’s previous work #DanceChat
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3 Alyssa Schoeneman

@MonicaAnne90 is referring to Merce Cunningham, a postmodern choreographer who doesn’t utilize any narrative in his work. #DanceChat
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3 Alyssa Schoeneman

@MonicaAnne90 I can see why Cunningham would be a hard choreographer to understand without a backstory. #Dancechat
Monica Anne
MonicaAnne90 Monica Anne

I think perhaps knowing about the choreographer rather than the piece itself allows some previous… #DanceChat
Monica Anne
MonicaAnne90 Monica Anne

…knowledge as well as some interpretation. At least for me personally. #DanceChat
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3 Alyssa Schoeneman

It definitely helps me to know something about the choreographer. So many dance works are intimate & reflect personal experience. #Dancechat
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3 Alyssa Schoeneman

As a choreographer @MonicaAnne90, how do you feel about revealing your choreographic process to an audience? #Dancechat
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3 Alyssa Schoeneman

Pre-talks and Talk-backs are a growing trend in dance performance. These allow audience members to ask questions about a work… #DanceChat
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3 Alyssa Schoeneman

before or after the performance. Their questions are answered by a moderator, the choreographer and/or the performers themselves.#DanceChat
Monica Anne
MonicaAnne90 Monica Anne

I think I would like to share it after the piece has been seen, but I haven’t had a lot of choreographic experience yet #DanceChat
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3 Alyssa Schoeneman

@ADeranDeran said she likes talk-backs better as a choreographer, b/c audience members go in with a clean slate & process after #dancechat
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3 Alyssa Schoeneman

Some viewers prefer to attend a talk-back because after seeing a dance work, they can ask more pointed questions. #DanceChat
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3 Alyssa Schoeneman

Talk-backs can be great if the right questions are asked. Audience members sometimes share opinions in search of validation #DanceChat
Monica Anne
MonicaAnne90 Monica Anne

If the choreographic process is an interesting one, sometimes that’s the “selling” point for some work. #DanceChat
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3 Alyssa Schoeneman

@MonicaAnne90 In that case, should the choreographic process be revealed up front? And does that make it gimmicky in any way? #DanceChat
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3 Alyssa Schoeneman

What advice would you give a viewer who is watching your work for the first time? #DanceChat
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3 Alyssa Schoeneman

How do you give audience members into your work without clouding their perception of it? #DanceChat
Monica Anne
MonicaAnne90 Monica Anne

Of the few pieces I’ve seen that have previously shared their processes have definitely drawn me into being interested. #DanceChat
Monica Anne
MonicaAnne90 Monica Anne

But those pieces were completely focused on the process as an art form. I think its possible for other ways to seem gimmicky #DanceChat
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3 Alyssa Schoeneman

Sometimes I think site specific work is gimmicky. Just b/c it was created in a novel space doesn’t mean it is a “deeper” work. #DanceChat
Monica Anne
MonicaAnne90 Monica Anne

@AScho3 That can definitely be true as well #DanceChat
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3 Alyssa Schoeneman

The difference to me is if the space changes the movement itself. A piece created on a hill can’t be recreated on a stage #DanceChat
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3 Alyssa Schoeneman

We’ve talked a lot about modern dance, but not about other dance forms. Is there room for interpretation in ballet, etc? #DanceChat
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3 Alyssa Schoeneman

Ballets often have extensive program notes – does this change the way you watch a ballet? If so, for better or for worse? #DanceChat
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3 Alyssa Schoeneman

I’m historically biased against story ballets because I prefer more room for interpretation in the dance I watch. #DanceChat
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3 Alyssa Schoeneman

Does anyone prefer ballets because they are easier to understand? Why else do you enjoy them? #DanceChat
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3 Alyssa Schoeneman

(For the record, I do love and appreciate ballet) #DanceChat
Monica Anne
MonicaAnne90 Monica Anne

Do you like Contemporary Ballet, @AScho3#DanceChat
Alyssa Schoeneman

AScho3 Alyssa Schoeneman

@
@MonicaAnne90 I do! I am much more drawn to contemporary ballet because it showcases the same technique in a less rigid structure
Monica Anne
MonicaAnne90 Monica Anne

I also like contemporary ballet, and I also like when traditional ballets are re-interpreted by ballet companies (sometimes) #DanceChat
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3 Alyssa Schoeneman

@
@MonicaAnne90 I agree that re-interpretation can go really well or really terribly. A company has to make sure that it pays…#DanceChat
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3 Alyssa Schoeneman

@
@MonicaAnne90 ..homage to the original without making a mockery of it/being disrespectful. It can be a really fine line #DanceChat
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3 Alyssa Schoeneman

@MonicaAnne90 But when done well I think it can be amazing. The trick is to fuse two independently strong components #DanceChat
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3 Alyssa Schoeneman

I recently shared this link on Facebook: youtube.com/watch?v=fChZR0… It is a version of Swan Lake w/African Dance #DanceChat
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3 Alyssa Schoeneman

The choreographer says in the video that African Dance and Ballet can co-exist, and that restrictions are for the birds. #Dancechat
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3 Alyssa Schoeneman

But she understands the history and the essence of Swan Lake and aims to preserve that. I think that is hugely important #DanceChat
Monica Anne
MonicaAnne90 Monica Anne

Wow, loved that video! I must say, one of my fav re-interpretors is Matthew Bourne #DanceChat
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3 Alyssa Schoeneman

It’s been an hour already! Thanks so much to @MonicaAnne90@ADeranDeran and @jennkloc for participating! #DanceChat
Alyssa Schoeneman
AScho3 Alyssa Schoeneman
And keep an eye on my blog ascho3.wordpress.com for details about the next #DanceChat!