Tags

, ,

If you’re a dancer, a patron of dance/the arts or someone who knows absolutely nothing about the art form, I need your help. I’m starting this blog as a social experiment because I am interested in generating discussions about real issues and recurring themes in the dance world – with real people. Through discussions on this site, I hope to grow the national dance community to include people who, before, would have never felt comfortable expressing their opinions about dance-related topics.

Here’s my reasoning: I have been working as a dance writer for about four years, and in that time I’ve observed that the general public doesn’t seem comfortable talking about dance – and especially about modern dance. I’m hoping to dispel some stereotypes about dance as a profession and art form, but especially to make dance more accessible to audiences everywhere. If you are willing to take this journey with me – to ask questions that you have about dance, to share your opinions about trends in the dance world (both commercial and otherwise), and most importantly, to learn a little something along the way, I promise to give you a reason to keep coming back to my site.

I’m going to start with a “Dance 101 Series” that ran originally in UIUC’s buzz magazine to give those of you with a limited dance background an introduction of sorts, and to give everyone a “home base” of sorts to return to if unfamiliar vocabulary or concepts start cropping up. Please do not hesitate to suggest new topics or to challenge any opinions that you see on the site. Like I said, the purpose of this blog is to generate discussion, not to stroke my ego as a dance writer.

That being said, thank you so much for taking the time to read this, and please share this site with your friends! I look forward to learning more about all of you in the future.

